School Calendar 2018-2019

Term 1 Friday 24th August – Friday 21st December 2018

School Closed: Monday 24th September 2018

Half Term: Monday 29th October – Friday 2nd November 2018

Christmas Holidays: Monday 24th December 2018 – Friday 4th January 2019

 

Term 2 Monday 7th January – Friday 12th April 2019

Half Term: Monday 18th February – Friday 22nd February 2019

St Patrick’s Weekend Monday 18th March and Tuesday 19th March 2019

Easter Holidays: Monday 15th April – Friday 26th April 2019

 

Term 3 Monday 29th April – Friday 31st May 2019

Bank Holiday: Monday 6th May 2019

Click here to find out more

School News & Events

Home School Community Liaison

Ms Carmel Shaughnessy is the Home School Community Liaison Teacher and can be contacted via the school.

The Home/School Community Liaison Scheme is based on the principle of partnership between homes, schools and communities. This partnership is characterised as “a working relationship that is characterised by a sense of purpose, mutual respect and the willingness to negotiate. This implies a sharing of information, responsibility, skills, decision-making and accountability”.

General principles govern the operation of the liaison scheme:-

  • The scheme consists of a partnership and collaboration of the complementary skills of parents and teachers.
  • The scheme is unified and integrated at both primary and second levels.
  • The thrust of the scheme is preventative rather than curative.
  • The focus of the scheme is on the adults whose attitudes and behaviours impinge on the lives of children, namely, parents and teachers.
  • The basis of activities in the scheme is the identification of needs and having those needs met.
  • The scheme develops teacher and staff attitudes in the areas of partnership and the “whole-school” approach.
  • The scheme promotes the fostering of self-help and independence.
  • Home visitation is a crucial element in establishing bonds of trust with families.
  • Networking with and promoting the co-ordination of the work of voluntary and statutory agencies increases effectiveness, obviates duplication and leads to an integrated delivery of service to marginalised children and their families.
  • Home/School/Community liaison is a full time undertaking.
  • The liaison co-ordinator is an agent of change.
  • Community ‘ownership’ of the scheme is promoted through the development of local committees.


Back to top