School Calendar 2019-2020

Term 1     Friday 23rd August – Friday 20th December 2019
Friday 23rd August  9.00 – 12 noon           First Years only
Monday 26th August  9.00 – 1.15 pm           First Years, Third Years and Sixth Years.
Tuesday 27th August  9.00 – 3.50 pm           All Students (Except Transition Years)
Tuesday 3rd September  9.00 – 3.50 pm           Transition Year Students
School Closed:     Monday 30th September 2019
Half Term: Monday 28th October – Friday 1st November 2019
Christmas Holidays:  Monday 23rd December 2019 – Friday 3rd January 2020
Term 2   Monday 6th January – Friday 3rd April 2020
Half Term:     Monday 17th February – Friday 21st February 2020
St Patrick’s Weekend       Monday 16th March and Tuesday 17th March 2020
Easter Holidays:  Monday 6th April – Friday 17th April 2020
Term 3     Monday 20th April – Friday 29th May 2020
Bank Holiday:  Monday 4th May 2020

Click here to find out more

School News & Events

Anti Bullying Policy

Bullying is any deliberate act that results from a conscious desire to hurt, threaten or frighten another person.  This is an abuse of power and results in pain and distress to its victims, who often feel powerless.  Usually bullying develops progressively over time; however, one incident can be sufficient to alert observers to an unwelcome tendency.

Bullying can be: – physical, verbal, social or psychological and may take many forms.

AIMS

The aim of this policy is to formally record the role we all have at Ardscoil Phádraig in promoting RESPECT for all individuals, in providing all individuals with the right to seek redress through either a formal or an informal process.  Central to this policy is our ethos of RESPECT for one another within the school environs.

This policy recognises that harassment or bullying is a disciplinary matter.  It recognises that an appropriate support mechanism is needed both for the victims of bullying and for those accused of bullying.  It also acknowledges that success in dealing with any issue in relation to bullying involves active co-operation between teachers, parents and students.

Teachers should be aware of dramatic changes in behaviour, work patterns, peer group relationships, attendance etc.

Parents should be sensitive to similar changes and such things as vague illnesses and not wanting to go to school.

Students should be supportive of each other and break any perceived culture of silence.  Do tell someone in authority (Principal, Deputy/ Principal) or any member of staff.

It is essential that all school staff, the Board of Management, students and their parents work together in active partnership to guarantee that there is a consistency and effectiveness in this approach towards bullying, treating all reports of bullying seriously.

PROCEDURE

The Principal / Deputy Principal will respond urgently and sensitively to all reports concerning bullying, whether these reports come directly from a student, teacher or staff member.

  1. Incidents of bullying should be noted to the Principal / Deputy Principal.
  2. Records of all alleged bullying incidents will be recorded and observations will be made to recognise emerging patterns.
  3. Staff will be informed of suspicions.
  4. Victim / bully will be referred for counselling / psychological assessment as necessary.
  5. Sanctions (under Code of Discipline) for the bully.  The parents of both the victim and the bully will be informed.

 

PREVENTION

It is important that the prevention, investigation and management of all alleged bullying be an ongoing process in this school.  Central to the prevention of bullying is our strong ethos of RESPECT for one another in this school.



Back to top