School Calendar 2019-2020

Term 1     Friday 23rd August – Friday 20th December 2019
Friday 23rd August  9.00 – 12 noon           First Years only
Monday 26th August  9.00 – 1.15 pm           First Years, Third Years and Sixth Years.
Tuesday 27th August  9.00 – 3.50 pm           All Students (Except Transition Years)
Tuesday 3rd September  9.00 – 3.50 pm           Transition Year Students
School Closed:     Monday 30th September 2019
Half Term: Monday 28th October – Friday 1st November 2019
Christmas Holidays:  Monday 23rd December 2019 – Friday 3rd January 2020
Term 2   Monday 6th January – Friday 3rd April 2020
Half Term:     Monday 17th February – Friday 21st February 2020
St Patrick’s Weekend       Monday 16th March and Tuesday 17th March 2020
Easter Holidays:  Monday 6th April – Friday 17th April 2020
Term 3     Monday 20th April – Friday 29th May 2020
Bank Holiday:  Monday 4th May 2020

Click here to find out more

School News & Events

School Notes – 8th February, 2019

First Year History Trip

First year History students visited the Knights and Conquests Heritage Centre in Granard recently. All the students had great fun finding out about the Normans and Knights. It is great to have this facility on our doorstep. The students also got to handle birds of prey which included hawks and owls. A fantastic time was had by all!

Transition Year First Aid Course

Transition Year students participated in First Aid training here at Ardscoil Phadraig. They watched videos about different emergency scenarios and how to respond to the various situations. They also had a lesson on how a stroke or heart attack can happen and how to prevent them happening to you.

Junior Cert Irish Orals

Well done to the Junior Certificate students who did their Irish Orals recently.

 

Science Show

A 3rd year science show took place on Wednesday last on The Solar System and making rockets, facilitated Declan Holmes from Science Ireland. The 3rd years all had a great day.

Bank of Ireland Bond Trader Challenge

Well done to all of our students at the Bank of Ireland Bond Trader Challenge recently in Mullingar. The bond trader challenge is a game that teaches a number of concepts about economics through a fun, interactive and competitive game. Students had to respond to real market scenarios and make decisions on how to manage their own bond portfolio under time pressure. Well done to our teams who were placed 3rd, 4th and 5th overall.

Mock Exams

Mock examinations for Junior and Leaving cert students are currently taking place. We would urge all our students to continue with their study plans in order to get the most out of these exams.

 

Basketball

First and Second Year girls played Killina Presentation Secondary School, Tullamore in the Midland D Competition last week. Although our first year team was defeated, they showed great spirit and their coaches were very happy with the improvements since the last match. The experience of playing together as a team since last year showed in the second year’s performance as they won their game 53-14. Their next matches are scheduled for Tuesda, 5th February against Gallen Community School from Ferbane. Good luck Ardscoil

Assessment Morning

Well done to all our incoming first years who sat their assessment tests last Saturday. It was lovely to see you all again.

Work Experience

Fifth years begin their week of work experience next Monday. We would like to thank all the employers who offer this valuable experience to our students.

Related Posts



Back to top