School Calendar 2019-2020

Term 1     Friday 23rd August – Friday 20th December 2019
Friday 23rd August  9.00 – 12 noon           First Years only
Monday 26th August  9.00 – 1.15 pm           First Years, Third Years and Sixth Years.
Tuesday 27th August  9.00 – 3.50 pm           All Students (Except Transition Years)
Tuesday 3rd September  9.00 – 3.50 pm           Transition Year Students
School Closed:     Monday 30th September 2019
Half Term: Monday 28th October – Friday 1st November 2019
Christmas Holidays:  Monday 23rd December 2019 – Friday 3rd January 2020
Term 2   Monday 6th January – Friday 3rd April 2020
Half Term:     Monday 17th February – Friday 21st February 2020
St Patrick’s Weekend       Monday 16th March and Tuesday 17th March 2020
Easter Holidays:  Monday 6th April – Friday 17th April 2020
Term 3     Monday 20th April – Friday 29th May 2020
Bank Holiday:  Monday 4th May 2020

Click here to find out more

School News & Events

School Notes – 15th February, 2019

 

CV and Interview Preparation with Longford ESB Offices

Padraig Dillon, ESB Networks gave a very informative presentation on cvs and interview preparation to fifth year students last week. This was an invaluable experience for the students as they got to learn first-hand what is expected in the current economic climate in terms of CVs and interviews. We would also like to thank Petrina Timoney, Midlands Regional Coordinator, Business in the Community Ireland for organising and supporting this partnership between the school and ESB Networks.

 

Irish Prison Services

Ardscoil Phádraig Third Year C.S.P.E students invited a guest speaker from the Irish Prison Services to our school recently. The students are currently completing their C.S.P.E Project on the Irish Prison Services. It was an educational and enjoyable experience and well done to all students who assisted in the preparations and organisations for the day.

 

First and Second Year Girls Basketball

Ardscoil Phadraig first and second year girls played Gallen Secondary School in the Midlands C Competition on Tuesday last in Ardscoil Phadraig. Although the first years played very well they came up against a better team on the day. Second years continued their winning streak with a 28-8 victory. Thanks to our coaches and to our two TY students Tadgh and Sinead for all of their help. Next match Tuesday 12th February is against Wilson’s Hospital Mullingar.

 

 

First and Second Year Boys Basketball

On Thursday last the boys’ basketball teams from Ardscoil Phadraig played Templemichael College. This was the First Years’ opening game this season and they put in a fantastic performance. The Second Year boys also had spectacular performances all across the court with and won their game. A special mention to Wasewo Diakanda who had a brilliant game.

 

Fifth Year Art Trip

The Fifth Year Art Class visited The Knights & Conquest Heritage Centre in Granard on Wednesday 6th February. Ms. Tara Brady, manager gave us a very insightful and interactive tour while we were there. She informed us of how the Normans invaded Ireland and built a stronghold on The Motte. We saw a typical Norman house interior and tried out the heavy armour they wore, we were even given Norman names. We had a really worthwhile visit and we wish to thank Ms. Tara Brady at the Centre and Ms. Cooney our art teacher for bringing us.

 

Work Experience

Fifth years are on work experience this week. We would like to thank all the employers who offer this valuable experience to our students.

 


Mock Exams

Mock examinations for Junior and Leaving cert students are currently taking place. We would urge all our students to continue with their study plans in order to get the most out of these exams.

Related Posts



Back to top