School Calendar 2018-2019

Term 1 Friday 24th August – Friday 21st December 2018

School Closed: Monday 24th September 2018

Half Term: Monday 29th October – Friday 2nd November 2018

Christmas Holidays: Monday 24th December 2018 – Friday 4th January 2019

 

Term 2 Monday 7th January – Friday 12th April 2019

Half Term: Monday 18th February – Friday 22nd February 2019

St Patrick’s Weekend Monday 18th March and Tuesday 19th March 2019

Easter Holidays: Monday 15th April – Friday 26th April 2019

 

Term 3 Monday 29th April – Friday 31st May 2019

Bank Holiday: Monday 6th May 2019

Click here to find out more

School News & Events

School Notes – 12th April, 2019

 

TY Law Module

James Fahey Galway Barrister delivered a very enjoyable and informative Law module to our TY students on Wednesday, students thoroughly enjoyed the module and the skills learned during the course were put to the test at the end of the day with a mock trial.

 

TY Trip to Kilmainham Gaol

This week the Transition Year students went on a trip to Kilmainham Gaol in Dublin. They found it a very interesting day and learned lots of new information about the famously historical prison. They were given a guided tour and got a chance to see a museum which included artefacts from such historical figures as Michael Collins. A special thanks to Ms. Murtagh and Ms. Mc Loughlin who accompanied the students on their trip. Next week the Transition Year group will be going to Ross House for horse riding.

Ardscoil Phádraig First Year Boys team who were narrowly defeated by Coláiste na Mí on Tuesday.

 

First Year Boys Football

The Ardscoil Phadriag first year boys’ team were out for the second round of their tournament against Coláiste na Mí from Johnstown in Navan. The game was an excellent display of quality football which saw Ardscoil Phadraig leading from the outset with a fantastic goal from Ben Costello. It wasn’t to be Granard’s day however when late goals were scored from the strong Coláiste na Mí side, resulting in them winning the game. Well done to the boys and best of luck on Monday when they play again!

Students from Ardscoil Phadraig who took part in the Ploughing Youth Workshop along with their teacher Ms. McDonald

 

Ploughing Youth Workshop

On Wednesday some of our students from Ardscoil Phadraig attended a Ploughing Youth Workshop to learn ploughing skills. 13 students attended from our school altogether and found the experience very interesting and fun, they also got to mix with students from other Longford second level schools. They learned different types of ploughs, how to set up a plough on a horse and tractor safety. They also got a tour of Kiernan Mills and got to meet Anna Marie Mc Hugh of the National Ploughing Championships too. It was great experience and one that our students hope to do again in the future!

 

First Year Basketball

Ardscoil Phádraig First Year girls played Ursuline College from Thurles on Tuesday the 4th of April 2019 in the semi final of the plate tournament. They were defeated 20-14 in the last few minutes of the game. The girls showed fantastic determination and attitude throughout this entire game. The girls have grown into a great team and we look forward to next year’s tournament.

 

Leaving Cert French Oral Exams

Well done to all the students who completed the French oral exams for Leaving Cert last Friday. The examiner was highly complimentary about the students’ courtesy and behaviour, and was very pleased with the effort and preparation they made.

Related Posts



Back to top